Facebook is able to track your every move on the web. Unless you specifically ask not to.
You most likely know that Facebook can track you anywhere on the web. But did you know that there is a setting to easily disable this behavior? It’s called the “Activity outside of Facebook” tool, a tool that’s been around since 2019. The latter lets you see and control what data apps and sites share with the platform — and track the type of activity. information that third-party apps have access to -.
With this feature, you can clear the history of apps and sites that have shared your data. You can also turn on “Unlink Future Activity,” which tells Facebook to unlink all information the company has shared from your account. Or you can select one by one the companies you want to stop sharing your activity with, so you will no longer see their targeted advertisements.
How to Manage What Sites Share with Facebook Using the Off-Facebook Activity Tool
With this tool, you can see what information apps and sites have transmitted to the giant. From there, you can delete them from your account and disable this behavior in the future. You can control this for all apps and sites so they can no longer share your search activity with Facebook.
To start, go to “Settings and privacy” > “Settings”, then in the “Your Facebook information” tab, click on View on the “Activity outside Facebook” line. From here you can explore the activity, clear past activity, or unlink future activity.
What happens when you disable off-Facebook activity?
Once the activity is erased by the tool, Facebook will remove information that can identify you in what apps and sites share. This means Facebook won’t know what sites you’ve visited or what you’ve searched for, so you won’t see targeted ads from those sites.
Other options to further protect your privacy on Facebook
If you want to control which ads you see or don’t see on Facebook, head to Settings then Ads.
There you can see advertisers who served you ads using your information. If you select a business and choose “Hide Ads”, you will no longer see their ads.
You can also go to “Ads Settings” and opt out of ads based on partner data, ads based on your activity on Facebook products you see elsewhere, and ads that include your actions on social media. However, doing this will not delete any data and you will still see as many ads as before. The Activity outside of Facebook feature remains the best option for clearing your data.
If you have an iPhone, the App Tracking Transparency feature introduced in iOS 14.5 requires you to give apps, including Facebook, permission to use your data for targeted ads.