The most popular chat service in the world, WhatsApp, in the latest version of the application has extended the possibility of deleting sent messages for more than two days. Apple, on the other hand, is going in the opposite direction with its iMessage service.
Deleting and subsequently modifying sent messages is a rather controversial topic. It happens to everyone from time to time that you send a message to the wrong person, so in those situations, the possibility of deleting the sent message makes a lot of sense.
In these situations, in most cases, you realize the mistake immediately and delete the sent message within a short time.
Of course, there are also those late-night messages created under the influence of everything you drank that night. Those messages may end up with the right person, but you would still prefer not to send them.
If such a message has been read, there is no particular point in deleting it, but if you realize in the morning that it still hasn’t been done, the possibility of deleting the message is certainly a lifesaver.
Until now, a sent WhatsApp message could be deleted exactly up to 1 hour 16 minutes and 8 seconds after sending. WhatsApp now extends that possibility to two days and 12 hours after sending, writes 9to5mac.
I don’t know how useful that is, but now it is possible.
Interestingly, Apple is going in the opposite direction with its iMessage messaging service between iDevices. iOS 16 brings the ability to delete and subsequently modify messages as well.
However, while in previous betas of iOS 16 it was possible to delete or modify a sent message up to 15 minutes after sending, in the latest beta of iOS 16, the time to modify or delete has been reduced to just one minute.
Apple has also implemented logging of changes to sent messages, so that the recipient knows when and how the content has been changed.
For those who do not know how, in order to delete a sent message, you need to press on it with your finger for a long time and select “Delete” in the menu that appears.
Take care that if you intend to delete messages within these more than two days, the recipient must also have the latest WhatsApp application. Otherwise, they will still see your message.